April 12, 2024

Sign Non-public Messenger introduced a brand new replace known as ‘Sign Usernames,’ which goals to guard customers’ privateness and provides them a brand new and alternate solution to construct connections with out sharing their telephone numbers. Furthermore, customers will be unable to see everybody’s telephone numbers by default within the Sign app. It was reported final yr that Meta-owned WhatsApp is engaged on an identical username characteristic.

Customers on Sign can simply cover their id with usernames; nevertheless, they are going to nonetheless have to register on the app with their telephone quantity. The corporate has revealed that these options are being examined in beta and will probably be out there to customers inside just a few weeks. Notably, these options will probably be out there to everybody, however to make use of them, each folks in a dialog want to make use of probably the most up to date app model.

The corporate additional defined that usernames have completely different meanings on Sign. Not like different social media platforms, Sign usernames is not going to be used for login functions.

They’re merely a fast solution to join with out sharing a telephone quantity. Your profile title stays no matter you set it to,

Your username shouldn’t be displayed in your Profile Particulars web page, and other people you message can’t see or discover your username with out your sharing it.

The corporate acknowledged in a weblog submit.

Picture: Sign

After this new replace, customers’ telephone numbers will solely be seen to those that have already got them saved of their telephone’s contacts. Sign stated in an announcement,

Individuals who have your quantity saved of their telephone’s contacts will nonetheless see your telephone quantity, no matter your settings, since they already realize it.

You too can management this by going to Settings > Privateness > Telephone Quantity > Who can see my quantity.

Sign additionally talked about that people can solely have one username at a time. They will simply be modified, and as soon as modified, folks will be unable to contact you with the previous username or QR code.